It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 10:03 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 9:15 am 

I've been using Phantom's since 2005 and have had a chance to use several versions of the Phantom software and cameras. I think I started with version 606 and I'm up to 675-2 running my v7.1's and v7.3's. There were some good features that came and went such as contrast.

I tried to use the new PCC software and really like some of the features that it now incorporates, especially the autofocus and remote blackout. I was looking forward to ordering new cameras to take advantage of those features. Unfortunately, I won't be able to use it as I can't take measurements unless I have a scale in the picture. Since we aren't able to do that I guess I'll have to stick with my old cameras and software.

Is there anyway to be able to use a scale that isn't in the current picture with the PCC software? Don't people mostly use these cameras for quantitative rather than qualitative analysis?

410-278-3103

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:55 am 
VRI Employee
VRI Employee

Hi Rob,

Thanks for your fidelity.

Contrast was replaced by gain, to avoid changing the black level of the video stream.

The operations of Pcc and Phantom are pretty similar as regard the measurements; in the last versions of Pcc, you have new features like inheriting the calibration from another cine.

You do not need to have a scale in the image, nor in Phantom neither in Pcc. It is enough to know a dimension of a visible object and the program will compute a scaling factor to display the coordinates in the chosen unit.

Without knowing the dimension of an object from the image, any software can measure position only in pixels.

Best regards,
Peter

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 11:45 am 

Thanks for your reply. How do you inherit the scale from one cine to another in PCC? The version I have is 1.3.697.0. Everytime I try, it wants me to scale from something in the picture.