It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 2:47 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Low Light Settings
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 6:59 am
Posts: 2
Hi,

Since using the new PCC software, I have found the 'Low Light' button for setting up the camera would be very usefull; However is there any way to adjust the settings for 'Low Light' as it defaults to 30FPS and full frame length which even with the camera inside whites out the image..... :o

If it cannot be adjusted, maybe this could be added in the next version of the software?

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Low Light Settings
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 106
Location: Romania
Hi Andy,

The Low Light option is not a setting for capturing, it is there to help the DoP/director to prep the next shot, until final lighting is ready, to work on framing, lens choice, rehearsal, etc, without having to do all these steps under heavy hot lamps.

Lets say the Director/DP want to shoot at 500fps with 180 degrees shutter, and everybody start to prep the scene setup. You can already set the camera at desired capturing parameters, do the CSR, and let them do their scene prep. Camera might need to be on a crane, or other difficult position. Until final lighting for that scene is ready, in order for DP to be able to see anything in lower light conditions, you can temporary set Low Lighting option. The shutter angle doesn't change, so image get now visible but too bright, and DP or focus guy will have to adjust/close the camera T-stop during the prep.

When scene prep is almost ready to be shot, you can return to the desired capturing settings (only de-select low lighting option), focus guy is re-opening the T-stop, and everybody is ready to shoot without having to do another CSR.

Diana

_________________
"Time is money!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Low Light Settings
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 5:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 6:59 am
Posts: 2
Diana,

thanks for the reply, in normal circumstances your solution would be perfect; however, for safety concerns sometimes we can't be with the camera during the final set-up as we use the camera in an engineering environment during dynamic testing. A variable ‘Low Light’ option would allow us to check the setup without entering the facility.

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Low Light Settings
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 5:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 106
Location: Romania
Then I don't think this option is for your field at all, is it more for broadcast/cinema when using a lens-cover to do a black/CSR is not easy...
If you need to capture in low lighting conditions, not only to temporary see the scene, and you can't touch the camera T-stop, then is not much you can do... just set the lens wide open, and force to max exposure, push gain and gamma, as you probably done before with legacy interface. This new Low Light button won't be a help for you, even if the fps it will be unlocked...

Diana

_________________
"Time is money!"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group