It is currently Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:01 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 16
We got this on a V10 and cant find an explanation anywhere. Anyone? thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 106
Location: Romania
You got this message when transferring from RAM to what? It might be a contact issue on the transfer route. Can you use PCC interface? If so, in PCC tools click enable logging and next time when any error happen send to VR technical support the error log notepad file and this might help them to identify the cause.

_________________
"Time is money!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 2:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 16
It was remotely triggered to download to a Toughbook laptop. When arriving at the location to check the laptop, that error was on screen. No internet access is available on these laptops because of security issues.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 3:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 106
Location: Romania
As far as we've experienced (and told by VR), this type of error seams to be generated by a contact issue. As you had a v10 (no cinemag) and you transferred directly from RAM into internal laptop hard-disk, in the worst case scenario it was a contact issue from inside the camera (you'll need to enable logging in PCC to see the error level if in the camera).
If this was just one time situation, I think you probably had some power variation or power contact problem. Did you had an UPS for the camera?

Diana

_________________
"Time is money!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 5:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 16
That very well could be the problem. There are numerous other signals and power supplies running other equipment as well as violent impact causing power issues. What's UPS?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 6:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 106
Location: Romania
UPS is a kind of battery based power stabilizer: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uninterrup ... wer_supply

It's a "box" that you can buy from any computer shop for less than a 100usd up to whatever performance you need, that insure if any power cuts or variations it will always delivered constant power.
Performance and price can vary depending on the amount of needed power, but for Phantom cameras, even the smallest UPC can insure you constant power if any interference.
Have one of this UPS units on set for the phantom to be plugged in, always working great! ...and all made in Taiwan, so... not matter what brand :)
small, light weight, with a loud alarm is good!

Diana

_________________
"Time is money!"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group